Freedom's Frontier Board of Trustees to meet at Carnegie Library Building in Lawrence, Kansas

Freedom's Frontier News Release

Contact: Sonia J. Smith, Marketing Manager
(785) 856-5304

Julie McPike, Managing Director
(785) 856-5283

Jim Ogle, Executive Director
(785) 856-3635


Freedom's Frontier Board of Trustees to meet at Carnegie Library Building in Lawrence, Kansas

The Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area's Board of Trustees' next regular board meeting will be held at 1 p.m., on Wednesday, October 19, at the Carnegie Building, 200 W 9th St., Lawrence, KS. 

Freedom's Frontier offices are located on the lower level of the building. On the upper level, are two exhibits. One provides information about historic people, places and themes of the heritage area -- the shaping of the frontier, the Missouri-Kansas Border War, and the enduring struggle for freedom; the other is about the Kansas Nebraska Act.

A volunteer is available to provide information about the exhibit on Wednesdays from 1-4 p.m., and Fridays, 10 a.m.-1 p.m., but the exhibits are open regular hours Monday-Friday, 8:30 a.m.-4 p.m. Freedom's Frontier participates in the National Park Service passport stamp program. The stamp is available in the exhibit area during those hours. 

For more information about Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area, visit www.freedomsfrontier.org.

- 30 -

Mission: Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area (FFNHA) is dedicated to building awareness of the struggles for freedom in western Missouri and eastern Kansas. These diverse, interwoven, and nationally important stories grew from a unique physical and cultural landscape. FFNHA inspires respect for multiple perspectives and empowers residents to preserve and share these stories. We achieve our goals through interpretation, preservation, conservation, and education for all residents and visitors.

Kansas Counties: Allen · Anderson · Atchison · Bourbon · Chautauqua · Cherokee · Clay · Coffey · Crawford· Douglas · Franklin · Geary · Jackson · Jefferson · Johnson · Labette · Leavenworth · Linn · Miami · Montgomery · Neosho · Osage · Pottawatomie · Riley · Shawnee · Wabaunsee · Wilson · Woodson · Wyandotte

Missouri Counties: Barton · Bates · Buchanan · Cass · Clay · Jackson · Johnson · Lafayette · Platte · Ray · St. Clair · Vernon

Established: October 12, 2006

Web site: www.freedomsfrontier.org

National Park ServiceVisit MissouriKansas Department of CommerceSEK
Web Development by Imagemakers Inc.
Are you sure you want to delete this?
Yes    Cancel