Freedom's Frontier Board of Trustees meet at Carnegie Building in Lawrence

Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area News Release


Jim Ogle, Executive Director
(785) 856-3635
(785) 409-9943 - cell

Julie McPike, Managing Director
(785) 856-5283
(785) 424-4453 - cell

Sonia Smith, Communications and Marketing Manager
(785) 856-5304
(785) 840-5499 - cell

Freedom's Frontier Board of Trustees to meet at Carnegie Building in Lawrence

The Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area's Board of Trustees' next regular board meeting will be held at 1 p.m., on Wednesday, April 4, at the Carnegie Building, 200 W 9th Street, Lawrence, Kansas. Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Offices are in the lower level of the Carnegie Building. The meeting will be held in the upper level, where there are exhibits related to the heritage area's stories. The three major themes of the heritage area are: the shaping of the frontier, the Missouri-Kansas Border War, and the enduring struggle for freedom.

Members of the Freedom's Frontier Board of Trustees are opinion leaders from throughout the area. The role of this board is to provide governance to the organization and develop fundraising strategies to support its coordination, and represent the national heritage area to the public.

The Board of Trustees meets six times a year. These meetings are open to the public and are posted on the Freedom's Frontier calendar. Meeting locations alternate between heritage area sites in Kansas and Missouri. For more information about Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area, visit www.freedomsfrontier.org.

National Heritage Areas (NHAs) are designated by Congress as places where natural, cultural, and historic resources combine to form a cohesive, nationally important landscape. Through their resources, NHAs tell nationally important stories that celebrate our nation's diverse heritage. NHAs are lived-in landscapes. For more information about National Heritage Areas, visit the National Park Service's webpage: https://www.nps.gov/articles/what-is-a-national-heritage-area.htm.

"National Heritage Areas are considered one of the Department of the Interior's most cost effective initiatives, relying on a public/private partnership in which every federal dollar is matched with an average of $5.50 in other public and private financing," say Congressman Charles Dent (R-PA) and Paul Tonko (D-NY).

For more information about the Freedom's Frontier Board of Trustees, visit http://freedomsfrontier.org/pages/Trustees. This page includes a full roster of the board, as well as a meeting schedule.

- 30 -
Heritage Area Fast Facts

Mission: Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area (FFNHA) is dedicated to building awareness of the struggles for freedom in western Missouri and eastern Kansas. These diverse, interwoven, and nationally important stories grew from a unique physical and cultural landscape. FFNHA inspires respect for multiple perspectives and empowers residents to preserve and share these stories. We achieve our goals through interpretation, preservation, conservation, and education for all residents and visitors.

Kansas Counties: Allen · Anderson · Atchison · Bourbon · Chautauqua · Cherokee · Clay · Coffey · Crawford· Douglas · Franklin · Geary · Jackson · Jefferson · Johnson · Labette · Leavenworth · Linn · Miami · Montgomery · Neosho · Osage · Pottawatomie · Riley · Shawnee · Wabaunsee · Wilson · Woodson · Wyandotte

Missouri Counties: Barton · Bates · Buchanan · Cass · Clay · Jackson · Johnson · Lafayette · Platte · Ray · St. Clair · Vernon

Established: October 12, 2006

Web site: www.freedomsfrontier.org

National Park ServiceVisit MissouriKansas Department of CommerceSEK
Web Development by Imagemakers Inc.
Are you sure you want to delete this?
Yes    Cancel