Freedom's Frontier Board of Trustees to hold annual meeting at Park University

Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area News Release

Jim Ogle
Executive Director
(785) 856-3635

Sonia J. Smith
Communications and Marketing Manager
(785) 856-5304

Freedom's Frontier Board of Trustees to hold annual meeting at Park University  

Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area's Board of Trustees will meet at Park University, in Parkville, Missouri, on Wednesday, December 12, from 1 to 3 p.m. The meeting will be held in the Distant Learning Center, at Park University Underground.

National Heritage Areas (NHAs) are designated by Congress as places where natural, cultural, and historic resources combine to form a cohesive, nationally important landscape. Through their resources, NHAs tell nationally important stories that celebrate our nation's diverse heritage. NHAs are lived-in landscapes. For more information about National Heritage Areas, visit the National Park Service's webpage.

Click here for more information about the Freedom's Frontier Board of Trustees. The page includes a full roster of the board, as well as a meeting schedule.

About Freedom's Frontier
Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area has more than 200 partner sites in eastern Kansas and western Missouri where visitors can explore history through historic homes, forts, battlefields, and cemeteries; museums and archives; artifacts and documents; parks and nature trails. Other partners are convention visitor and tourism bureaus. All of the partners help to present stories of the shaping of the frontier, the Missouri-Kansas Border War and the enduring struggle for freedom.

Learn more about all of the sites by visiting www.freedomsfrontier.org and clicking on "Places to See". There is also a historic timeline, and an events calendar. Request a heritage area map by sending an email to information@freedomsfrontier.org.

- 30 -
Heritage Area Fast Facts

Mission: Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area (FFNHA) is dedicated to building awareness of the struggles for freedom in western Missouri and eastern Kansas. These diverse, interwoven, and nationally important stories grew from a unique physical and cultural landscape. FFNHA inspires respect for multiple perspectives and empowers residents to preserve and share these stories. We achieve our goals through interpretation, preservation, conservation, and education for all residents and visitors.

Kansas Counties:
Allen · Anderson · Atchison · Bourbon · Chautauqua · Cherokee · Clay · Coffey · Crawford· Douglas · Franklin · Geary · Jackson · Jefferson · Johnson · Labette · Leavenworth · Linn · Miami · Montgomery · Neosho · Osage · Pottawatomie · Riley · Shawnee · Wabaunsee · Wilson · Woodson · Wyandotte

Missouri Counties: Barton · Bates · Buchanan · Cass · Clay · Jackson · Johnson · Lafayette · Platte · Ray · St. Clair · Vernon

Established: October 12, 2006

National Park ServiceVisit MissouriKansas Department of CommerceSEK
Web Development by Imagemakers Inc.
Are you sure you want to delete this?
Yes    Cancel