Freedom's Frontier Board of Trustees to meet at Black Archives of Mid-America

Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area News Release   

Contact: Jim Ogle, Executive Director
(785) 856-3635
(785) 409-9943 (cell)

Sonia Smith, Communications Manager
(785) 856-5304
(785) 840-5499 (cell)

Freedom's Frontier Board of Trustees to meet at Black Archives of Mid-America

The Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area Board of Trustees will meet Wednesday, June 12, 1-3 p.m., at the Black Archive of Mid-America, in the Horace M. Peterson III Building, 1722 E 17th Terrace Kansas City, Missouri.

Board of Trustees members are opinion leaders from throughout the bi-state, 41-county 29 counties in eastern Kansas; 12 in western Missouri) heritage area. The board oversees policy for the organization, develops fundraising strategies to support its coordination, and represents the national heritage area to the public.

The Board of Trustees meets six times a year. These meetings are open to the public. Meeting dates and locations are posted on Freedom’s Frontier website, freedomsfrontier.org, and on social media. Because Freedom's Frontier is a bi-state organization, the trustees alternate between Kansas and Missouri for their meetings, which are usually hosted by a partnering organization. This gives the trustees an opportunity to meet Freedom's Frontier partners, and tour the historic sites and museums that make up the Places to See in the heritage area.

For more information about the Board of Trustees, or to learn about volunteer opportunities with Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area, call (785) 856-5300.

About The Black Archives of Mid-America

The Black Archives of Mid America, Inc. was founded May 8, 1974, by Horace M. Peterson III and initially located at 1821 Paseo, in the old Paseo Y.M.C.A. building. In 1976, the Black Archives moved to 2033 Vine, old Firehouse No.11. The firehouse, located in Kansas City's Historic 18th and Vine District, itself is representative of African American history in this region as it was home to the first Black fire company in Kansas City. It was built in 1931 as part of the Work's Progress Administration period under President Franklin D. Roosevelt.

The Black Archives is a non-profit organization that serves the community by offering itself as an educational resource as well as a repository of every facet in African American culture; music, art , theater, education, the military, medicine, sports, religion and community affairs. The Black Archives was expressly created to collect and preserve the history of African Americans in the Midwest. Beyond our original emphasis of research and critical examination, the Archives' traveling exhibits personify the roles of African Americans and their plight to dispel negative images. Our interpretive and educational programs, research services and special projects have received overwhelming community support.

Firehouse No. 11
It was Peterson's dream to see an invigorated 18th and Vine District that showcased the contributions of African Americans. His exemplary efforts became reality with the anticipated move of the Black Archives to a larger facility located in the heart of this Historic District. Other projects envisioned by Peterson include the Kansas City Jazz Museum, the Negro Leagues Baseball Museum and the Gem Theater; all landmarks in the 18th and Vine District.The mission of the Black Archives of Mid-America in Kansas City, Inc. is to collect, preserve and make available to the public materials documenting the social, economic, political and cultural histories of persons of African American descent in the central United States, with particular emphasis in the Kansas City, Missouri region. Black Archives of Mid-America is an educational resource and provides access to its collections for research, exhibition and publication to honor our community heritage and to catalyze public awareness.

- 30 -

About Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area

Location: 41 counties in Eastern Kansas and Western Missouri
Area: 31,021 square miles
Population: 2,883,526 (2017 estimate)
Established: October 12, 2006
Counties involved:
Kansas – Allen, Anderson, Atchison, Bourbon, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Clay, Coffey, Crawford, Douglas, Franklin, Geary, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Labette, Leavenworth, Linn, Miami, Montgomery, Neosho, Osage, Pottawatomie, Riley, Shawnee, Wabaunsee, Wilson, Woodson, Wyandotte
Missouri – Barton, Bates, Buchanan, Cass, Clay, Jackson, Johnson, Lafayette, Platte, Ray, St. Clair, Vernon

National Park ServiceVisit MissouriKansas Department of CommerceSEK
Web Development by Imagemakers Inc.
Are you sure you want to delete this?
Yes    Cancel