Freedom's Frontier Trustees hold annual planning session

Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area News Release

Contact: Jim Ogle, Executive Director
(785) 856-3635
(785) 409-9943 (mobile)

Sonia Smith, Communications Manager
(785) 856-5304
(785) 840-5499 (mobile)
Freedom's Frontier Board of Trustees
will hold annual planning session

Freedom's Frontier Board of Trustees to hold annual planning session

The Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area Board of Trustees will meet Tuesday, August 27, 10 a.m.-3 p.m., at the Carnegie Building, 200 W 9th Street, in Lawrence, Kansas, for a planning session, and regular board meeting. The Carnegie Building is the location of the Freedom's Frontier staff offices, and exhibits that convey the heritage area themes of the shaping of the frontier, the Missouri-Kansas Border War, and the enduring struggle for freedom.

Board of Trustees members are opinion leaders from throughout the bi-state, 41-county heritage area (29 counties in eastern Kansas; 12 in western Missouri). The board oversees policy for the organization, develops fundraising strategies to support its coordination, and represents the national heritage area to the public.

The Board of Trustees has regular meetings six times a year. Meeting dates and locations are posted on Freedom’s Frontier website, freedomsfrontier.org, and on social media. Because Freedom's Frontier is a bi-state organization, the trustees alternate between Kansas and Missouri for their meetings, which are usually hosted by a partnering organization. This gives the trustees an opportunity to meet Freedom's Frontier partners, and tour the historic sites and museums that make up the Places to See in the heritage area.

For more information about the Board of Trustees, or to learn about volunteer opportunities with Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area, call (785) 856-5300.
- 30 -

About Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area

Location: 41 counties in Eastern Kansas and Western Missouri
Area: 31,021 square miles
Population: 2,883,526 (2017 estimate)
Established: October 12, 2006
Counties involved:
Kansas – Allen, Anderson, Atchison, Bourbon, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Clay, Coffey, Crawford, Douglas, Franklin, Geary, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Labette, Leavenworth, Linn, Miami, Montgomery, Neosho, Osage, Pottawatomie, Riley, Shawnee, Wabaunsee, Wilson, Woodson, Wyandotte
Missouri – Barton, Bates, Buchanan, Cass, Clay, Jackson, Johnson, Lafayette, Platte, Ray, St. Clair, Vernon

National Park ServiceVisit MissouriKansas Department of CommerceSEK
Web Development by Imagemakers Inc.
Are you sure you want to delete this?
Yes    Cancel