Freedom's Frontier Board of Trustees will meet at University of Saint Mary in Leavenworth and tour rare Lincoln Collection

Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area News Release

Contact: Jim Ogle, Executive Director
(785) 856-3635
(785) 409-9943 (mobile)

Sonia Smith, Communications Manager
(785) 856-5304
(785) 840-5499 (mobile)

Freedom's Frontier Board of Trustees to meet at University of St. Mary

The Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area Board of Trustees will meet Wednesday, February 12, 1-3 p.m., at the Active Learning Center on the University of Saint Mary campus, in Leavenworth, Kansas. This regular board meeting, scheduled on President Lincoln's birthday, will be followed by a tour of the university's Bernard H. Hall Abraham Lincoln Collection, which contains more than 10,000 items of memorabilia.

Items in the collection include:

  • One of the 14 known original copies of the 13th Amendment to the Constitution – the document that made slavery illegal.
  • A broad assortment of books and pamphlets on Lincoln's life and work. Included is a complete 85-volume set of “Following Abraham Lincoln, 1809-1865,” by Bernhardt Wall, books containing original engravings of all the places Lincoln had lived or traveled.
  • One of two known letters written by Mrs. Lincoln and co-signed by Lincoln.
  • One of Lincoln's last messages to his wife – a telegram from Grant's headquarters in City Point, sharing with her Gen. Grant's success and the prospect of the imminent fall of Petersburg which meant the end of the Civil War and bloodshed.
  • A lock of hair purportedly taken from Lincoln's head at the time of his death.

Abraham Lincoln delivered his first presidential campaign speech in Leavenworth, Kansas, in December 1859 at the urging of close friend Mark Delahay, a Leavenworth attorney. After the speech, Lincoln stayed about a week, and later said, “If I were to ever travel west again, I think I would go to Leavenworth.”

University of Saint Mary has an annual Lincoln lecture. This year's free lecture features Dr. Gerald Butters Jr. discussing “Lincoln on Film” at 7 p.m. on Feb. 17 the university's Xavier Theatre. For more information, click here. To make an appointment to tour the Bernard H. Hall Abraham Lincoln Collection or any of the USM collections, call the Keleher Learning Commons at (913) 758-6306.

The Freedom's Frontier Board of Trustees members are opinion leaders from throughout the bi-state, 41-county heritage area (29 counties in eastern Kansas; 12 in western Missouri). The board oversees policy for the organization, develops fundraising strategies to support its coordination, and represents the national heritage area to the public.

Dates and locations for the board of trustees' regular meetings are posted on Freedom’s Frontier website, freedomsfrontier.org, and on social media. Because Freedom's Frontier is a bi-state organization, the trustees alternate between Kansas and Missouri for their meetings, which are usually hosted by a partnering organization. This gives the trustees an opportunity to meet Freedom's Frontier partners, and tour the historic sites and museums that make up the Places to See in the heritage area.

For more information about the Board of Trustees, or to learn about volunteer opportunities with Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area, call (785) 856-5300.
- 30 -

About Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area
Congress designated Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area to work with the National Park Service and local organizations to tell the important freedom stories of this region. Our major themes are the settlement of the frontier, the Border and Civil Wars on the western frontier, and the enduring struggle for freedom. More than 165 museums, historical societies, and heritage sites partner with us in telling these stories. Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area's boundaries include 3 million people and 30,000 square miles along the Kansas-Missouri border. Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization.

Location: 41 counties in eastern Kansas and western Missouri

Area: 31,021 square miles

Population: 2,883,526 (2017 estimate)

Established: October 12, 2006

Counties involved:
Kansas – Allen, Anderson, Atchison, Bourbon, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Clay, Coffey, Crawford, Douglas, Franklin, Geary, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Labette, Leavenworth, Linn, Miami, Montgomery, Neosho, Osage, Pottawatomie, Riley, Shawnee, Wabaunsee, Wilson, Woodson, Wyandotte

Missouri – Barton, Bates, Buchanan, Cass, Clay, Jackson, Johnson, Lafayette, Platte, Ray, St. Clair, Vernon

National Park ServiceVisit MissouriKansas Department of CommerceSEK
Web Development by Imagemakers Inc.
Are you sure you want to delete this?
Yes    Cancel