Freedom's Frontier Board of Trustees will meet at Garrison School Cultural Center in Liberty, MO

Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area News Release   

Contact: Sonia J. Smith, Marketing Manager (785) 856-5304



Julie McPike, Managing Director (785) 856-5283

Freedom's Frontier Board of Trustees to meet at Garrison School in Liberty, MO

The Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area's Board of Trustees' April board meeting will be held at 1 p.m., on June 10, 1-3 p.m., at the Garrison School Cultural Center, 502 North Water Street, Liberty, MO 64068.

The Clay County African American Legacy Inc. (CCAAL Inc.) was founded in 2000 with a focus on improving the quality of life for its citizens by educating adults, and especially youth, of the cultural diversity that exists in the Northland. 

CCAAL Inc. purchased Garrison School, established in 1877 to educate black youth of Liberty, from the Liberty School District in 2003, for use as a cultural center. The organization exhibits photos and art in the cultural center gallery, and presents programming in the center. 

For more information about Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area, visit www.freedomsfrontier.org. 

                                                                              - 30 -

Heritage Area Fast Facts

Mission: Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area (FFNHA) is dedicated to building awareness of the struggles for freedom in western Missouri and eastern Kansas. These diverse, interwoven, and nationally important stories grew from a unique physical and cultural landscape. FFNHA inspires respect for multiple perspectives and empowers residents to preserve and share these stories. We achieve our goals through interpretation, preservation, conservation, and education for all residents and visitors.

Kansas Counties: Allen · Anderson · Atchison · Bourbon · Chautauqua · Cherokee · Clay · Coffey · Crawford· Douglas · Franklin · Geary · Jackson · Jefferson · Johnson · Labette · Leavenworth · Linn · Miami · Montgomery · Neosho · Osage · Pottawatomie · Riley · Shawnee · Wabaunsee · Wilson · Woodson · Wyandotte

Missouri Counties: Barton · Bates · Buchanan · Cass · Clay · Jackson · Johnson · Lafayette · Platte · Ray · St. Clair · Vernon
Established: October 12, 2006

Web site: www.freedomsfrontier.org

National Park ServiceVisit MissouriKansas Department of CommerceSEK
Web Development by Imagemakers Inc.
Are you sure you want to delete this?
Yes    Cancel