Freedom's Frontier Partnership meets in Geary County in May 2016

Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area News Release

Contact: Sonia J. Smith, Marketing Manager
(785) 856-5304

Freedom's Frontier Partners to meet in Junction City, Kansas, at Geary County Historical Society

Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area Partners will meet at the Geary County Historical Society, 530 N. Adams St.
Junction City, Kansas, on Thursday, May 12, 10 a.m.-2 p.m., for the regularly scheduled partnership meeting.

Partnering organizations in the bi-state, 41-county organization meet six times a year, on the second Thursday of odd-numbered months. Meetings are hosted by Partners, and vary in location throughout the heritage area. Meetings usually include reports on heritage area projects and activities, reports from Partners on projects and events at their sites, a speaker or program, and a tour of the facility where the meeting is being held. Meetings are free and open to nonprofit organizations, and others interested in collaborating to tell the the nationally significant, regional stories that relate to the heritage area's major themes: shaping the frontier, the Missouri-Kansas Border War, and the enduring struggle for freedom. 

An agenda for the upcoming meeting is available here, and the Partnership Pledge is here.

Lunch reservations for the meeting are available, for $11 here. Please RSVP for the meeting whether reserving lunch or not, so there will be adequate seating. For more information, email ssmith@freedomsfrontier.org, or call (785) 856-5304. For more information about Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area, visit www.freedomsfrontier.org.

- 30 -

Heritage Area Fast Facts

Mission: Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area (FFNHA) is dedicated to building awareness of the struggles for freedom in western Missouri and eastern Kansas. These diverse, interwoven, and nationally important stories grew from a unique physical and cultural landscape. FFNHA inspires respect for multiple perspectives and empowers residents to preserve and share these stories. We achieve our goals through interpretation, preservation, conservation, and education for all residents and visitors.

Kansas Counties: Allen · Anderson · Atchison · Bourbon · Chautauqua · Cherokee · Clay · Coffey · Crawford· Douglas · Franklin · Geary · Jackson · Jefferson · Johnson · Labette · Leavenworth · Linn · Miami · Montgomery · Neosho · Osage · Pottawatomie · Riley · Shawnee · Wabaunsee · Wilson · Woodson · Wyandotte

Missouri Counties: Barton · Bates · Buchanan · Cass · Clay · Jackson · Johnson · Lafayette · Platte · Ray · St. Clair · Vernon

Established: October 12, 2006

Web site: www.freedomsfrontier.org

National Park ServiceVisit MissouriKansas Department of CommerceSEK
Web Development by Imagemakers Inc.
Are you sure you want to delete this?
Yes    Cancel