Explore places to visit - Interactive Map
Watch events unfold - Visual Timeline
Read the Stories - Freedom's Froniter Themes

Upcoming Events

   December 2019   
Submit an Event
Upcoming Events



Watkins Woolen Mill hosts Christmas on the Farm Dec. 7

Missouri State Parks Watkins Woolen Mill State Historic Site News Release  Contact: Communications Office (573) 751-9392... continue>>


New Smithsonian exhibit coming to Missouri's American Indian Culture Center

Missouri Department of Natural Resources News Release  continue>>

Listen to Our Podcast

This family-friendly, travel podcast series was created by An Sasala, a Hall Center for the Humanities Fellow, working with Freedom’s Frontier National Heritage Area. Listen for places to take your children to explore the history of the shaping of the frontier, the Missouri-Kansas Border War, and the enduring struggle for freedom.  Find More than a Yellow Brick Road on SoundCloud. Use the links below, or download SoundCloud on your device at the Apple App Store, or Google Play.

      Episode 1: Welcome to More Than a Yellow Brick Road
      Episode 2: The Pony Express
      Episode 3: African American History in Freedom's Frontier
      Episode 4: Jesse James, Villain
      Episode 5: Stage Coaches + Wagon Trains on the Little Prairie
      Episode 6: Phoenix


National Park ServiceVisit MissouriKansas Department of CommerceSEK
Web Development by Imagemakers Inc.
Are you sure you want to delete this?
Yes    Cancel