FFNHA partners participate in Sunflower Summer 2024

By Johnny Szlauderbach

NEWS — MAY 30, 2024

Kansas Tourism has announced its lineup of participating attractions in the 2024 Sunflower Summer program. Designed for families with school-age children, Sunflower Summer offers a way to explore Kansas destinations by providing complimentary access to museums, discovery centers, historic sites, and other attractions across the state.

Between May 25 through August 11, more than 220 attractions will participate, including 30 FFNHA partner sites.

Visitors with school-age children must download the Sunflower Summer app and claim tickets to participating attraction venues. The digital tickets are redeemed upon arrival. Each user can use one ticket per venue during the 2024 season.

See a list of sites and events here or access the app directly at sunflowersummer.org.

Participating FFNHA partners:

  • Amelia Earhart Birthplace Museum
  • Amelia Earhart Hanger Museum            
  • Atchison County Historical Society     
  • Brown v Board of Education National Historic Site      
  • Coffey County Historical Society Museum      
  • Constitution Hall SHS Lecompton       
  • Dole Institute of Politics            
  • Flint Hills Discovery Center     
  • Fort Scott National Historic Site           
  • Gordon Parks Museum               
  • Grinter Place State Historic Site           
  • Independence Historical Museum and Art Center        
  • John Brown Museum SHS and Adair Cabin       
  • Johnson County Museum          
  • KU Natural History Museum    
  • Lowell Milken Center for Unsung Heroes          
  • Marais des Cygnes Society and Massacre State Historic Site
  • Mine Creek Battlefield State Historic Site        
  • Miners Hall Museum   
  • Museum at Prairiefire 
  • Old Depot Museum      
  • Overland Park Arboretum and Botanical Gardens
  • Pony Express National Museum            
  • Riley County Historical Society and Museum 
  • Shawnee Indian Mission State Historic Site    
  • Shawnee Town 1929 Museum
  • Trading Post Museum 
  • Wabaunsee County Historical Society and Museum  
  • Watkins Museum of History
  • Wyandotte County Historical Museum

Freedom’s Frontier National Heritage Area (FFNHA) builds awareness of struggles for freedom in western Missouri and eastern Kansas. Established by Congress in 2006, FFNHA covers a unique physical and cultural landscape across 41 counties and 31,000 square miles. It promotes three diverse, interwoven, and nationally significant stories: frontier settlement, the Missouri-Kansas Border War and Civil War, and enduring civil rights disputes. FFNHA inspires respect for multiple perspectives and empowers area residents to preserve and share these stories, achieving its goals through interpretation, preservation, conservation, and education for all residents and visitors. It is one of 62 federally recognized National Heritage Areas across the United States.